
Vermont Public Service Board 
Rule 5.100 – Net-Metering  



Solar panels transform energy 
from the sun into electricity 
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An Inverter converts the electricity 
produced by the solar panels from 
direct current (DC) to alternating 
current (AC) for use in your home.  A 
meter measures how much energy 
your system produces. 
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Energy is used to power your home 3 

A bi-directional utility meter 
measures energy used from 
the electric grid and excess 
energy produced from your 
solar panels 
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Excess energy produced from 
your solar panels is distributed 
back into the electric grid 

Energy used in your home is  
drawn from the electric grid 

How Net-Metering Works 
Residential Photovoltaic Solar Example 



Net-Metering 1.0 

• Program started in 1997 

• Began with small systems and limited program size 

• Over time, the law allowed larger systems and increased the 
program’s capacity  

• In 2011, customers using solar were offered an incentive payment of 
~5 cents per kilowatt-hour (kWh) 
• Monetization of credits began 
• Group systems became common 

• In 2014 Act 99 directed Board to start developing “Net-Metering 2.0” 

• In 2015 the program filled the statutory 15% capacity cap 
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Number of CPG Applications and Cumulative Program Capacity by Year 
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Recent Developments  

• Significant decreases in installation cost of solar  

• Development of competitive renewable energy markets in Vermont: 

 

 

 

 

 

• Robust build-out of solar in Vermont and New England has changed 
the value of the benefits offered by building more solar 
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Resource  Price per kWh Notes 

Section 219a Net-Metering  ~22 cents Utility does not receive Renewable 

Energy Certificate (“REC”) 

Large Scale Wind 8.8-11 cents Includes REC  

Energy Efficiency 4.4 cents Not electricity, no RECs  

Standard-Offer Solar 2.2  10-13 cents Utility receives REC 

Other Tier II Solar Resources   ~12 cents Utility receives REC 

 

 



Increased solar deployment will push the time of the peak load to later in the day 

6 Source: https://www.iso-ne.com/static-assets/documents/2016/06/a8_isone_net_loads_with_increasing_behind_the_meter_pv.pdf 



Structure of the Rule 

• Five Parts 
I. General Provisions 

II. Application Procedures 

III. Public Participation 

IV. Program Requirements (rates, billing, groups) 

V. Compliance Procedures 



Summary of Significant Changes  

• Incentive structure 
• Incentives for better siting decisions 
• Incentives to support Vermont’s Renewable Energy Standard and reduce greenhouse 

gas emissions 
• Designed to reflect economies of scale and future changes in the cost of technology 

• Rate structure 
• Reduce the cost shift between net-metering customers and customers who don’t 

net-meter 
• Periodic review of incentives to reflect changes in technology and markets 

• Application Procedures 
• Designed to encourage better siting decisions 
• Designed to facilitate public participation in Board proceedings 
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Preferred Sites (Section 5.103) 

• Roofs 

• Parking lot canopies 

• Previously developed sites 

• Brownfields 

• Landfills 

• Gravel pits 

• Municipally designated site 

• Superfund sites 

• “Next to load” 
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Application Procedures 

• Registrations (Section 5.105) 
• Ground mounted solar up to 15 kW 

• Roof mounted solar up to 500 kW 

• Hydro up to 500 kW 

• “Application Form” (Section 5.106) 
• Any ground mounted system (solar, wind, biomass, CHP) over 15 kw and up to 

50 kW 

• No hydro 

• “Petitions” (Section 5.107) 
• Everything over 50 kW, except hydro 



45-Day Advance Notice 

Filing 

Board Determines Application to be 
Complete 

Decision 

No, 
then 

• Prehearing Conference 
• Site Visit 
• Discovery 
• Testimony & Exhibits 
• Evidentiary Hearing 
• Stipulation or MOU 
• Briefs 

Decision 

Yes, then 

Application Notice 

30-Day Comment Period, Requests 
to Intervene, Requests for Hearing 

Application and Petition Procedures  



Part III – Public Participation 

• Part III is intended to provide guidance to the public about how to 
participate in the review of net-metering CPG applications 
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Pre-Existing Systems 

• Pre-existing systems are exempt from certain provisions of the rule: 
• Pre-existing systems continue to receive the rates provided by Section 219a 

for 10 years  

• Pre-existing systems are not subject to non-bypassable charges for 10 years 

• Pre-existing systems are not subject to REC or siting adjustors 

• Pre-existing systems will receive the blended residential rate for 
excess generation after 10 years 
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Rate Structure 

• New rate structure can be described as “retail plus” or “retail minus” 
depending on the system 

• To calculate the value of a net-metering credit, start with the 
“Blended Residential Rate” 
• Company’s general residential service rate,  

• Blend of company’s residential block rates, or   

• Statewide average rate (14.9 cents) 



Siting and REC Adjustors 

Siting Adjustor 

Type of Project 
 

Adjustor Value 
 

< 15 kW 1 cent per kWh 

15 – 150 kW  
“well sited” 

1 cent per kWh 

15-150 kW 
“greenfield” 

(-3) cent per kWh 

150 – 500 kW 
 “well sited”  

(-1) cents per kWh 

Hydroelectric facilities  0 cents per kWh 

REC Adjustor 

Transfer REC to utility  +3 cents per kWh 

Customer retains REC -3 cents per kWh 



Examples of rates available to net-metering systems   
All values in cents per kWh. 

Type of Net-Metering System Blended 

residential 

rate 

Siting 

adjustor 

Positive or 

negative REC 

adjustors 

Total with either 

positive or negative 

REC adjustor 

< 15 kW 14.9 1 3 or (-3) 18.9 or 12.9 

15 – 150 kW  
“well sited” 

14.9 1 3 or (-3) 

 

18.9 or 12.9 

15-150 kW 
 “greenfield” 

14.9 (-3) 

 

3 or (-3) 

 

14.9 or 8 .9 

150 – 500 kW 
 “well sited”  

14.9 (-1)  3 or (-3) 

 

16.9 or 10.9 

16 



Non-Bypassable Charges 
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Highlighted items are 
non-bypassable 

Total non-bypassable 
charges for this bill 
are $22.99 



Part IV – Compliance Procedures 

• Section 5.134 establishes procedures for enforcement of CPG 
conditions 

18 


